Home > Uncategorized > Male bonding

Male bonding

Its been more than a year since we met. Nothing significant about the first time, hardly any words spoken. But there was something in the way he did what he did, that made me want to go back again. Since then, we have a regular rendezvous, once every month or so. Each time, its the same routine. I enter his place, our eyes meet, a brief nod of mutual recognition, a half-smile.. not much else. Sometimes he makes me wait,  but its almost always a weekend, so I am relaxed and don’t mind – he makes the wait worthwhile. There are others who look hopefully at me, offering their services. The ones who have been here for a while know that its futile and I will not respond. The newer ones are a bit more persistent, it takes a sideways glance from him to let them know that i will choose only him.

And then he trains all his attention on me. Again, only a word or two exchanged. Our eyes meet for a second, and he knows exactly what i want.   I just close my eyes and let him take over. A while later, I emerge out of my dream-like state, satisfied and happy. I add a generous tip to the payment, which he accepts with a simple ‘thank you’.

The funny thing is, after over a year of perfect male bonding, we don’t even know each other’s names. I guess we don’t need to.  

As I walked out of my barber’s small shop down the street, after my haircut today,  I thought about asking him his name next time, and maybe do some small talk. I probably won’t. Why spoil something so perfect.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Dhileep
    July 25, 2010 at 10:27 pm

    Way to go Satishji… Keep it coming.

  2. Arvind
    July 26, 2010 at 12:08 am

    Nice start! Keep writing 🙂

  3. July 26, 2010 at 4:23 am

    Congrats on the great start! Made for a really nice read. Amazing that all along you were talking about a barber! A really mundane thing such as a hair cut is put across so beautifully. Here’s to more reading and writing!

    • July 31, 2010 at 3:47 pm

      Thanks, Lavanya. Hope to see you in a couple of weeks & get some blogging tips!

  4. Sunil Gupta
    July 26, 2010 at 10:31 am

    very very interesting read…..

  5. July 26, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    Nice one…. I will surely retrospect upon it, the next time I visit my Barber 🙂

  6. Dipdiptea
    July 29, 2010 at 1:04 pm

    Very cool….you have a touch of Graham Greene in you….Ahem! Keep writing.

  7. Dipdiptea
    July 29, 2010 at 1:05 pm

    Or was it O’Henry…..anyway you have greatness written in you:-)

    • July 31, 2010 at 3:50 pm

      Dips:You will be my friend even if you leave comments which are honest, ok! Thanks da, seriously tempted to do a Salinger & not write any more posts now! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

