Home > Death, Loss > Two Deaths

Two Deaths

Dad passed away a week ago. It was an unexpected end to what was an otherwise normal day for him. Started the day with his walk and suryanamaskaram plus yoga routine in the morning, making sure his grandkids ate their lunch and had their evening milk & dry fruits, a trip to the market to get vegetables in the evening. Later, he got back home from his normal evening jog/walk (20 rounds around the apartment block), sat in his favourite rocking chair and breathed his last a few minutes later.  He was still in his running shoes, t-shirt and shorts.

While it’s probably a universal human desire to leave painlessly without suffering, it was an especially fitting end for someone like him, given his remarkable physical energy at his age. Given my beliefs, I cannot relate to ideas like his having gone to a better place or things like that. The many rites and rituals that I am sitting through now do not mean much to me.  But the overwhelming feeling is a sense of solace, for he lived a fairly fulfilling life, and more importantly, he really went the way he would have wanted to. And that’s a very satisfying way for me to deal with his loss.

There was another death yesterday. An unknown girl, not related to me, whose name I will never know. I can imagine that she had many hopes and dreams. Of a life that she would have wanted to live. And definitely too young to have even given any thought about any end. Definitely not when she boarded that bus.

While we give her various names and anoint her with titles like Heroine of India, martyr, etc., I don’t think she would have cared for any of this. What she would have wanted to do is watch a movie with her friend, go back home and get on with living her anonymous life the next day. And the day after. And the next.

That is what she would have wanted. And there is no way for me to deal with that.

Categories: Death, Loss
  1. December 31, 2012 at 5:50 am

    Sending hugs from Bombay. You are in my thoughts and so is your Dad. I have a really great photo of him holding me when I was a one year old baby. In that photo, he looks exactly the way you look now, with glasses.

    • January 2, 2013 at 10:32 pm

      Thanks, Deeps..Send digital version of that snap, no?

  2. Banno
    January 2, 2013 at 9:52 am

    Satish, So sorry to hear this. However, it must be a great consolation to know that your father seems to have ended his life so peacefully.

    • January 2, 2013 at 10:36 pm

      Yes, Banno. though the suddenness will take some time to reconcile, the way he went is something that does offer solace. Thanks for your message of support. Wish you a very happy new year.

  3. Preeti Milind More
    January 11, 2013 at 11:33 am

    Satish anna…Firstly, I am sorry I wasn’t there at this time of grief (there have been few things which have been on for some time due to which I am unable to travel). Though, frankly I never knew athimber so well, I can never imagine a family pic of the ALI clan without him. The few talks which I had with him have been very warm and I keep recalling his serenity, calmness and sense of satisfaction on his face which I observe in very few.
    On the personal front, we haven’t been in touch anna, but anytime, do feel free to give a buzz!

    • January 22, 2013 at 6:43 pm

      Thanks for your lovely words, Preeti. Amma also told me about your beautiful letter to her. Unfortunately I couldn’t meet your mom and dad when they came to Sion over the weekend, as I was at the marathon. Hope to see you sometime. say Hi to Milind from me.

  1. January 22, 2013 at 7:17 pm

Leave a Reply

