Home > Dolphins > Humans or Dolphins? #youprefer

Humans or Dolphins? #youprefer

Dolphins have been on my mind of of late. I got a nice new screensaver recently, a dolphin themed one – basically a set of breathtakingly beautiful pictures of dolphins in the ocean, against a backdrop of spectacular sunsets, blue sunny skies, etc.

dolphins1

And its also got these very quirky sound notifications. A new email to your inbox is heralded with splashing water, the kind of sound a dolphin would make as its dives back in after a graceful jump out of the water. The first time this happened, I was quite spooked.. it was late in the evening, and I was filing expense reports, right after I had downloaded the dolphin theme. I have a pair of really good Altec Lansing external speakers in my office, the volume on my laptop was at max, and I suddenly hear this Whoosh sound.. of water splashing all around, like in a 3D movie… made me jump out of my chair. There are also other sound alerts, like a dolphin whistle whenever you get pop-ups for forgetting a check box in an online form, or a printer error, etc.

I guess I’ll get a bit tired of all this soon, but for now, I LIKE. In the sea of mediocrity that is a typical work week, it’s nice to be reminded of frolicking dolphins. Also, one of my all-time favourite quotes ever, is about dolphins:

“Man has always assumed that he was more intelligent than dolphins because he had achieved so much…the wheel, New York, wars and so on…while all the dolphins had ever done was muck about in the water having a good time. But conversely, the dolphins had always believed that they were far more intelligent than man…for precisely the same reason.”

                                                              – Douglas Adams, Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy

Categories: Dolphins Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

